Tuesday, December 13, 2005

Referrals from China taking longer these days

So, I heard yesterday that the wait for referrals has changed from 6 months to 8-9 months and possibly longer! This means that my LID of 10/31/05 might have been as early as April (6 mo), but now will likely be more like July or August. Some are even saying it could be longer than 8 or 9 months... 10-12 months even! Crazy.... that doesn't even count the wait for travel.

I'm getting myself prepared for this wait now, which is good. This does mean it gives me a little more time to get my finances in order.

Monday, December 12, 2005

Other things going on in my life...

Besides the money stuff, I haven't taken much time to decorate the baby's room yet or to start a quilt for her. I am going to try to do that the week after Christmas, when I'm on vacation!

I had a quilt that I volunteered to quilt for a group, that I'm trying to get finished this week. I also have a couple purses to make for Susan (Mindy's best friend) for her mom and sister for Christmas. I need to get a few things listed on Ebay and call St. Vincent DePaul to come get some stuff.

Plus, I've been working a lot of over-time at work for the past 2 months! Thankfully, our project is slated to go in on December 17 and this will slow down a bit for awhile. Whew.

The big thing I've done this year is run. I've run 7 marathons, 3 half marathons, 1 10 miler, the Turkey Trot (5 mi) and a couple 5K races. I was thinking of trying the HUFF 50K race on December 17, too, but we'll see how the weather is.

I ran:
February - Yellow Springs 10 miler
March - Heart Mini 5K with Joe (his first)
April 10 - Glass City Marathon, Toledo, OH (sprained my ankle)
May - Miamisburg 5K with Joe and Kat (her first)
May 28 - Bayshore Marathon (memorial day weekend)
July 31 - San Fransisco Marathon
Aug 7 - Chicago Distance Classic Half Marathon
Sept 17 - Air Force Marathon
Sept 25 - Dayton River Corridor Half Marathon
Oct 23 - Detroit FreePress Marathon
Nov 13 - Healthy Huntington Marathon
Nov 20 - Cleveland Distance Classic Half Marathon
Nov 24 - Miamisburg Turkey Trot (with Joe, Kat, Mindy!)
Dec 3 - St. Jude Memphis Marathon

I have a few runs I'd like to do between now and June... just have to figure out how to pay for them!

December Happenings...

Ok. So, My dossier is in China and waiting to be processed for my Referral. Now, what do I do?

Well, for starters... I've sat down and looked at my finances. Ugh. What a daunting task! I've got to come up with a LOT of money between now and June or so. I've been a slacker in this regard. Now it is coming back to bite me in the arse. Oh well, I've just got to completely buckle down and get it in order. Adoption isn't cheap kiddies.

I've still have:

Post Placement Deposit (refundable) $500 - Check/Credit Card
Visa to enter China $80 per person – Credit Card
US Domestic & International Airfare $900 - $1,600 by coach/per adult plus $100 - $150 return lap ticket for child under 2 – Credit Card
In-China Travel & Accommodations - Approximately $1,700 for two adults – Personal Check
Adoption Registration and Notarization $400 - $800 – Cash
Child’s Passport $100-$150 – Cash
Orphanage Fee $3,000 – Cash
Food $600 - $800 per couple - Cash/ Travel Check/Credit Card
Child Physical & Photo $70– Cash
Child U.S. Entry Visa $380– Cash
Post-Placement Support Varies by home study agencies
Court Validation Fee Varies by state
Child Birth Certificate Varies by state

Approximate total of this part is: $10, 680.00

So, the total is approximately going to be $18,000-19,000.00 by the time the adoption is complete.

This does not include extra spending money in China or extra houspayments put aside for time off work. Although, I've got to still figure out how much time I can manage to have off work.

I get 3 weeks of vacation a year. I also get a little sick time. Plus FMLA, but I'm not sure how much this is or if I get paid at all if I take FMLA. There will be 2 weeks in China. So, that leaves me with one week of vacation left. I will likely have to take that before FMLA kicks in. I would love to stay home for at least 2 weeks after she comes. But who knows. I know I could take more, but I just don't think I can afford it. We'll see.